Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
USL PRO All-League Teams Announced
Orlando City leads the pack with six honorees

USL News Release

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

TAMPA, Fla. – USL PRO honored the top performers from an exciting and successful 2011 regular season today, naming the All-League First and Second Teams as chosen through a vote of team management.

USL PRO regular season champion Orlando City leads the way with four players selected to the First Team and a total of six players honored. The Lions, who will host Saturday’s USL PRO Championship against the Harrisburg City Islanders (7 p.m. ET, FOX Soccer), are represented at every position on the First Team after the selections of striker Maxwell Griffin, midfielder Yordany Alvarez, defender Rob Valentino and goalkeeper Miguel Gallardo.

Wilmington Hammerheads defender Gareth Evans is making his second consecutive appearance on the First Team, while Richmond Kickers defensive leader William Yomby and Richmond striker Matt Delicâte are honored for the third consecutive season. Remarkably, Charlotte Eagles set-up man Jorge Herrera is on the First Team for the fourth consecutive season after finishing second in the league in assists.

League scoring leader Jhonny Arteaga of F.C. New York was a natural choice for one of the three forward spots after tallying 13 goals and 27 points in 21 games. Rounding out the USL PRO All-League First Team is former MLS defender Nelson Akwari of the Los Angeles Blues and rookie midfield standout Luke Mulholland of Wilmington, who finished tied for second in points.

The finalists for Coach of the Year, Defender of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player will be announced on Wednesday, August 31, with the awards being presented at the USL PRO Championship Media Luncheon on Friday, September 2 in Orlando.

2011 USL PRO All-League First Team
GK – Miguel Gallardo, Orlando City
D – Nelson Akwari, Los Angeles Blues
D – Gareth Evans, Wilmington Hammerheads
D – Rob Valentino, Orlando City
D – William Yomby, Richmond Kickers
MF – Yordany Alvarez, Orlando City
MF – Jorge Herrera, Charlotte Eagles
MF – Luke Mulholland, Wilmington Hammerheads
F – Jhonny Arteaga, F.C. New York
F – Matt Delicâte, Richmond Kickers
F – Maxwell Griffin, Orlando City

2011 USL PRO All-League Second Team
GK – Neal Kitson, Rochester Rhinos
D – George Dublin, Antigua Barracuda
D – Colin Falvey, Charleston Battery
D – Kyle Hoffer, F.C. New York
D – Troy Roberts, Rochester Rhinos
MF – Lewis Neal, Orlando City
MF – Lawson Robinson, Antigua Barracuda
MF – Jamie Watson, Orlando City
F – Jose Angulo, Harrisburg City Islanders
F – George Davis IV, Dayton Dutch Lions
F – Jason Yeisley, Pittsburgh Riverhounds

Copyright 2011 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2011 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.
Youth Sports WebWriter Websites, Online Registration Management, Tournament and League Scheduling Systems