Events Shop Audio / Video USL Home USL Home Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog Facebook Twitter Blog RSS RSS RSS News Stats Scoreboard
Share | |
USL-2 All League Teams Announced
Charleston, Richmond place 3 each on First Team

USL News Release

Monday, August 23, 2010

TAMPA, Fla. – The United Soccer Leagues Second Division has announced its 2010 All-League First and Second Teams, highlighting the top performers from a hard-fought regular season. The teams were selected through a vote of team management.

The regular season champion Charleston Battery and runners-up Richmond Kickers lead the way by placing three players each on the USL-2 All-League First Team. Charleston, the hosts of this Saturday’s USL-2 Championship vs. Richmond (6 p.m. ET, Fox Soccer Channel), had the league’s most potent offense making it no surprise that forwards Lamar Neagle and Tom Heinemann and midfielder Alioune Gueye were chosen for the First Team.

Representing Richmond on the First Team are defender Yomby William and forward Matt Delicâte (both making their second consecutive First Team appearance) and midfielder Luke Vercollone. Richmond also placed three players on the Second Team, leading the league with six total selections.

Anchoring the First Team defense are Pittsburgh’s Shintaro Harada and Harrisburg’s Dustin Bixler, who have become USL-2 All-League regulars. Harada is making his fourth consecutive appearance on an All-League team, while Bixler is making his third. They are joined by Real Maryland’s Gareth Evans, who anchored one of the league’s stingiest backlines.

Rounding out the first team are Pittsburgh Riverhounds goalkeeper Hunter Gilstrap, who posted six shutouts in 18 starts, and Charlotte Eagles midfielder Jorge Herrera, who led the team with six goals and is making his third consecutive appearance on the First Team.

The finalists for Coach of the Year, Defender of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player will be announced on Wednesday, August 25, with the awards being presented at the USL-2 Championship Media Brunch on Friday, August 27 in Charleston. Goalkeeper of the Year will also be presented at the Media Brunch.


2010 USL-2 All-League First Team
GK – Hunter Gilstrap, Pittsburgh Riverhounds
D – Dustin Bixler, Harrisburg City Islanders
D – Gareth Evans, Real Maryland Monarchs
D – Shintaro Harada, Pittsburgh Riverhounds
D – Yomby William, Richmond Kickers
MF – Alioune Gueye, Charleston Battery
MF – Jorge Herrera, Charlotte Eagles
MF – Luke Vercollone, Richmond Kickers
F – Matt Delicate, Richmond Kickers
F – Tom Heinemann, Charleston Battery
F – Lamar Neagle, Charleston Battery

2010 USL-2 All-League Second Team
GK – Brian Levey, Real Maryland Monarchs
D – Anthony Calvano, Harrisburg City islanders
D – Greg Dalby, Charlotte Eagles
D – Sascha Goerres, Richmond Kickers
D – David Hertel, Richmond Kickers
MF – Michael Burke, Richmond Kickers
MF – Rudolph Mayard, Charleston Battery
MF – Jason Pelletier, Harrisburg City Islanders
MF - Darren Toby, Charlotte Eagles
F – Jeremy Deighton, Pittsburgh Riverhounds
F – Chad Severs, Pittsburgh Riverhounds

Copyright 2010 United Soccer Leagues. All rights reserved.
Copyright 2010 Demosphere International, Inc. All rights reserved.